Packing Light 101

Hello Readers,

This week’s post will be a little different; I was commuting home on the train when I saw a group of travellers headed to Union Station with their backpacks, carry ons and rollable luggage which made me think about how much I’ve evolved when packing for a trip.

When I first began travelling, I would pack double the amount of clothes and shoes (who can resist) that would be required for the duration of the trip. Not only was my bag crazy heavy, I learnt that I didn’t really end up wearing the additional items I had carried along. This allowed me to be more creative when putting together outfits, matching one item with another and getting more than one use out of the clothes. I’ve now made it a rule to pack 3 pairs of pants and 5 pairs of shirts/blouses and to pack clothes that are neutral colour theme so I can mix and match the tops and bottoms. This is definitely my #1 tip when packing.

Whilst surfing the web, I came across the following article that simplified a lot of things for me; from amount of clothing to carry to number of electronics that are actually required. If you follow me on my Pinterest page, I’ve pinned this site to my travel board but the link below is a great outline about how to pack light and create more room in your suitcase for souvenirs or other items. For example, I’ve learnt to roll my clothes and to fill my shoes with things like deodorant or makeup remover to save space. Although the article is a little old, it is still quiet helpful and even includes a whole list of things one might need.

http://travelingwithsweeney.com/2013/09/08/packing-tips-for-traveling-light/

 

So have a read and let me know if you’ve ever had a hard time packing or if you’re like me and overpack. Also if you have any more tips, tricks and hacks when packing, I’d love to know as I’m still learning how to limit the amount of shoes I carry with me (yes, its an obsession).

Until next time,

 

 


One thought on “Packing Light 101

Leave a comment